Daily Prompt: Under the Full Moon

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/20/daily-prompt-nighttime/

When the full moon happens, you turn into a person who’s the opposite of who you normally are. Describe this new you.

The darkness is all around me and yet I am not afraid. The full moon shines above me, leading me to the bar where I wish to find my confidence in another person.

My purse is full of make-up and a toothbrush and toothpaste in case of late nights. Waking up with no make-up would not be possible for me. I walk into the bar and show no worries.

I flirt with the guy behind the bar and score a free drink. My long, brown hair does the work for me. I only need to smile to get what I want. He gives me a wink and hands me a fruity cocktail. I smile and turn away to look at the other people around me. 

It had been a good day at school. Pre-med was all I had wanted to do in school and my love for it strengthened everyday. The only problem was Math and that was easily solved with a tutor and some clever cheating. School as going to go by quickly and I only had to ride it out until I could find a real job in the real world. College was not for me.

A man came over as I sipped my drink and sat on the stool next to me. 

“Are you here alone?”

I surveyed him. From the looks of him, he worked at some type of job where he lifted a lot. Not a college boy and not somebody my parents would approve of. I smiled.

“Yes, I am.”

He took my hand and I went with him. He didn’t go to the dance floor, for he did not dance. Instead he bought me another drink and took me to a table. He told me about his construction business and I sat, smiled, and listened,.

Eventually, he stopped talking, gave me another smile, and reached for my hand without asking. I let him lead me out of the bar and into the night. This is what would make me feel better. This is what made me feel complete.

The moon sat high in the sky as we walked under it, forgetting my love for pencils and books.

 

Leave a Reply

