Luxuries and Values

What’s the one luxury you can’t live without?

I looked up the definition to luxury. Def: !. Something inessential but conductive to brain and pleasure. 2. Something expensive or hard to obtain. (freedictionary.com)

These are different definitions in my mind and I”m not sure what to go with. Something inessential would probably be my books (though they seem essential to me). I had a post earlier about my love for books and I don’t know what I would do without them.

Something expensive: well, I’m not sure. Maybe my education. That’s expensive and for some, it’s something they never get. If it weren’t for loans, I wouldn’t be getting it. Sure, I could teach myself out of books, but it’s easier with an instructor as well as the ability to discuss with peers.

Something hard to obtain: family. Of course, it’s not hard for me to obtain. I have a huge family and they’re important to me no matter how much they annoy me. I know there are people who don’t have a family and they search for people that fill that gap. Friends can be a part of family as well. If I look at it from an outsider’s point of view who didn’t have a family, I would see that family is definitely a luxury.

Short post for this one. I couldn’t get into it as much. If you’re interested in what I’m reading right now, it’s Insurgent and I’m definitely loving it. Check out the movie clip for Divergent, it looks pretty good. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S6HHCxLZftQ

8 thoughts on “Luxuries and Values

Leave a Reply

