Slut-Shaming

Except for the fact that everybody says something about it.

It’s been all over your Facebook wall and it may have been on your Facebook: “All the sluts are out tonight!”

Of course, you probably didn’t put a picture of your costume up, did you?

Unfortunately, people don’t seem to realize what they’re saying when they call somebody a slut, because of what they’re wearing. I understand people should think of what they’re wearing and what it’s saying to others. If you go into a job interview wearing dirty jeans and t-shirt, you look lazy as opposed to going in wearing something more professional. That’s in a professional environment. What about everyday?

I’m one of those people who feel more comfortable in clothes that you may say is “slutty.” I like wearing short shorts in the summer and loose shirts that show a bit of skin and a push-up bra for good measure. Why? It’s not because I sleep around. It’s not even that I want attention from other guys. It’s because it makes me feel good.

I’m skinny. I’ve been told this and have been given disgusted looks for something I can’t really control. I’m not complaining about being skinny, but I have my own problems. I think my thighs are too small and it makes it difficult to find jeans that hug them. People used to ask all of the time why I wear baggy jeans. It makes me look sloppy. Well, I don’t have to worry about that with shorts. They show off my thighs instead. It gives me confidence and honestly, I like the feel of the sun on my legs. Bikini season is kind of my favorite (despite my stomach, I’m telling you I eat too many white carbs)

But isn’t wearing “slutty” clothing making you feel better about yourself because people find you more attractive? Well…yes. To a point at least. People have found me more attractive in certain items that I’m not comfortable wearing. I don’t like my hair a certain way because it makes me feel too out there, but others have said it’s cute and brings out my eyes. I’m not comfortable with it. I wear what I wear because I can fade into the background. Why is it that because I like wearing certain things, I get shamed and it’s assumed I want to sleep around?

To Halloween. I find Halloween fun because you get to be whomever you want to be. I didn’t get a chance to dress up because I couldn’t get my dream costume together (guys, I was going to go as Buffy, but red leather pants seems to be difficult to find) and this year it wasn’t too scandalous. One year, I wanted to go as Simi from the Dark Hunter series. 

She’s a book character and I adore her. My boyfriend saw the picture and said she’s a slut. I asked him why. He said to simply look at her. Okay, her character does favor short skirts and revealing outfits. She has slept with one guy though. That’s all. Her attire doesn’t define who she is.

Why instead can’t we say dress like what makes you comfortable. I understand some people wear revealing clothes because they think they have to to get attention. This is wrong just like people shouldn’t have to wear long pants and covered necklines, so people don’t think they’re a “slut.” What you wear does give away some of your personality, but maybe instead it’s “I’m comfortable the way I dress,” not “I’m dressed like this so that gives you a right to think badly of me.”

One thought on “Slut-Shaming

Leave a Reply

