That 3 Year Old Crush

Remember your first crush? Think about that very first object of your affection. Oh, the sweaty palms. The swoony feeling in your stomach. Tell us the story of your first crush. What was it about this person that made your heart pound? Was the love requited? Change the names to protect the guilty or innocent if you must! No judgement here. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Oh gross. I was boy crazy by the time I went to school. I may have been before that, but I don’t have memories of being two years old. I went to Nursery School when I was three and have a few vivid memories of my experience there. I wish I had a cute picture of me to share, but sadly I’m at school and I don’t haul around baby pictures.

So that crush. His name was Marcus and I’m not changing his name due to the fact that nobody I know really reads this and everybody liked him or his brother at one point. He was a twin and that right there may have been the reason for my crush because I don’t know why else.

I was a weird kid. My dad dressed me every morning and did my hair. That wouldn’t be a problem except he was permanently stuck in the 80’s. This meant my hair was always brushed on top of my head (no part because that wasn’t cool) and I was frequently dressed in pink and purple (yes, together). He had no understanding why my mom would try and set out clothes for me. He thought he was doing a great job. I also read a lot and since I was the oldest kid in my family, I was able to entertain myself easily. I was social, but wasn’t really good at talking to kids my own age. I loved school and liked to play games by myself.

It’s like watching the end of your social life before you even got a chance to start it.

So Marcus. He was blond, pale, and “cool.” He could build block towers the highest, pedal the fastest on the trikes, and used these foam blocks to build slides. I never talked to him and he never to me. I just thought he was successful and therefore, I liked him. I  can’t say much more than that as I was three and only remember adoring him from afar. I could have given you my actual first crush, but I thought this counted well enough.

I have a lovely memory of being sick and throwing up everywhere. I wasn’t able to go on the slide today, but I did watch him go down it over and over as I waited for the babysitter to pick me up.

Oh, to be three again.

6 thoughts on “That 3 Year Old Crush

Leave a Reply

