“I’m Kinda Older Than I Was When I Reveled Without A Care, So There”

This has nothing to do with Lorde, I just really like that song.

But it does have to do with music!

And Feminism. Of course.

Where I stumble and fall from my feminist seat is in the subject of music. People have ripped a part music for the sexism it embodies and the disgusting portrayal of women in the words that are used and worse of all, the videos we see.

I agree with all of that, but I these songs are unfortunately, my favorites and I can’t seem to stop listening to them.

How do I live with myself?

Well, I’m not what you would call a cultural feminist. I do have some aspects of it, especially when it comes to literature and language (I’ll blog about this soon, as well), but I don’t see changing music as being able to change the way people look at women.

It sounds as if I’m trying to defend myself here. I think music represents what we see as important in the culture and what’s allowed. Music that includes sexism reflects the type of culture we live in and that’s not okay. It’s a reflection though and I’m not confident that changing some lyrics and videos will change the way women are looked at. It will still be there, but music will stop being a reflection of what’s going on culturally.

I’m not saying these songs should be swept under the rug. We definitely should fight against what we can and stand for the mis-representation of women and the disgusting stereotypes that we’re supposed to live in.

So what’s my favorite song?

“Rock You Like A Hurricane” -Scorpions

If you haven’t heard this song, look it up on YouTube. If you don’t want to go as far as that, here are some lyrics: “The bitch is hungry/she needs to tell/so feed her inches/and feed her well.”

The music video features a mostly naked woman in a cage.

I’m totally not into the misogyny, but I would be lying if I said I hated the song. I’ve already said it’s my all time favorite song.

This doesn’t mean I’m not a feminist.

What it means is that there’s history behind that song: a childhood where I fell asleep in the car with the music pounding, a song that connected me to people who also lived with parents who refused to come out of the 80’s, and something that’s comforting.

Yes, it’s not a women-positive song.

No, I don’t hate women all of a sudden.

Yes, I still think Blurred Lines is an awful representation of women (though once again, I have danced to it more than once).

Music shows where our culture is at as a whole, but it doesn’t represent one person who happens to be listening to it.

Leave a Reply

